th images menu user export search eye clock list list2 arrow-left untitled twitter facebook googleplus instagram cross photos entrep-logo-svg

John Gokongwei Jr., Dennis Uy, Teodoro Ferrer Lead PH Winners in ASEAN Business Awards

Eight Filipino businessmen and women were recognized in the annual awarding of the region’s best enterprises
By Lorenzo Kyle Subido |

Eight Filipino businessmen were among the 24 awardees of the 10th ASEAN Business Awards (ABA), an annual recognition of excellent businesses within the region. The awarding ceremony was held last September 6 at the Solaire Resort and Casino in Pasay city.



President Rodrigo Roa Duterte shares the table with his Cabinet officials as well as members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Business Advisory Council and ASEAN economic ministers during the ASEAN Business Awards



JG Summit Holdings chairman emeritus John Gokongwei Jr. was among the nine recipients of the Legacy Award, which is given to “entrepreneurs who have passionately committed themselves to growth and excellence while significantly contributing positive impact to the ASEAN Community.” JG Summit has major interests in the food, retail and air transportation industries. According to business magazine Forbes, Gokongwei is the second richest person in the Philippines with a net worth of $5.6 billion.




Most Promising ASEAN Companies Award to JG Summit Holdings Inc., represented by its founder and Chairman Emeritus John Gokongwei Jr., during the ASEAN Business Awards



Related story: John Gokongwei Jr. leads 2017 Legacy Awardees of ASEAN Business Awards



Davao-based entrepreneur Dennis Uy was named Young Entrepreneur of the Year, which is given to a successful business owner under 45 years old. Uy is the chairman of Udenna Corp., the parent company of two listed companies: independent oil firm Phoenix Petroleum Philippines and shipping firm Chelsea Logistics Holdings. Uy also has an indirect stake in listed logistics company 2GO Group.



Related story: How Rich is Davao-Based Entrepreneur Dennis Uy? 



The Inclusive Business Award, which recognizes enterprises that “create social impact through the company’s core business operations,” was given to Teodoro Ferrer, co-founder of the Generika chain of drugstores. Handling over 690 branches around the country, Ferrer and his group own 50 percent of the Generika business, with the other 50 percent having been bought by the Ayala group last 2015.


Cecilio Pedro, founder of manufacturing firm Lamoiyan Corp., is among the four recipients of the SME Excellence Awards. His company was recognized for its corporate social responsibility efforts, among which is a foundation that provides free education for deaf people.




President Rodrigo Roa Duterte hands over the award to Udenna Corporation founder Dennis Uy who is merited as the lone Young Entrepreneur of the Year awardee during the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Business Awards



The three other winners of the SME Excellence Award were Nasha Jungkankul from Thailand, Jasudasen Thambynathan from Singapore and Khin Maung Lwin from Myanmar. Laotian entrepreneur Sirina Sisombat-Hervy was recognized as the Woman Entrepreneur of the Year.


Four Filipinos were given the Priority Integration Sector Award, which recognizes excellence in specific industries. Bernie Liu of clothing retailer Penshoppe bagged the award for retail, while Paul Rodriguez of Asian Marine Transport Corp., the operator of RORO vessels, won the award for logistics. Home accessory manufacturer Nature’s Legacy president and CEO Pedro Delantar Jr. received the award for Wood-Based, and distillery Destileria Limtuaco president Olivia Limpe-Aw was given the award for Agri-Food.



Related story: The ‘Iron Lady’ of Philippine distillery  



Four other entrepreneurs from ASEAN were recognized in other Priority Integration Sector categories. These are: Kok Khun Won from Singapore for the e-ASEAN category; Kuang Sia Lim from Malaysia for the Rubber category; Vidjongtius from Indonesia for the healthcare category; and Tony Fernandes from Malaysia for the Tourism category.







Lorenzo Kyle Subido is a staff writer of Entrepreneur PH

Latest Articles