th images menu user export search eye clock list list2 arrow-left untitled twitter facebook googleplus instagram cross photos entrep-logo-svg

Where and How to Buy the 3-Year Retail Treasury Bonds With a Coupon Rate of 4.875% p.a.

See the schedule of the DOF’s roadshows on the bond offering that lasts until June 8
By Lorenzo Kyle Subido |



Last May 30, the Bureau of the Treasury (BTr) announced that it will be raising up to Php66 billion worth of fresh capital through the sale of retail treasury bonds (RTBs). The bonds will pay a coupon rate of 4.875 percent per annum and will mature on 2021.


For interested investors, the BTr detailed how to avail of these bonds as well as which financial institutions are selling them during the offer period of May 30 to June 8.




Related story: Lend Php5,000 or More to the Gov’t for 3 Years and Earn 4.875% p.a.



“Those looking to avail of RTBs will find the process easy and convenient,” wrote the BTr in a press release. “Interested investors only need to have a peso account with the banks identified as accredited selling agents of RTBs. It is through the peso account that the principal and interest payments will be made.”


After opening an account with any of the accredited banks listed below, individuals will be asked to fill out an application form that will indicate how much of the RTBs they want to reserve. The minimum subscription amount needed is Php5,000, and additional placements can be made in multiples of Php5,000. However, buyers are not guaranteed to receive the full amount of their reservation as it would depend on the supply available to their respective banks.


When the reservation gets approved, the buyer’s bank account will be debited the approved amount. The quarterly coupon payments from the RTBs will also be credited automatically to this account.



Here’s a list of the 16 financial institutions that are qualified to sell the RTBs during the offer period:



1. Banco de Oro Universal Bank

2. Bank of Commerce

3. BDO Capital and Investment Corp.

4. BPI Capital Corp.

5. China Banking Corp.

6. Citibank N.A.

7. Development Bank of the Philippines

8. First Metro Investment Corp.

9. ING Bank

10. Land Bank of the Philippines

11. Metropolitan Bank & Trust

12. Philippine Bank of Communications

13. Philippine National Bank

14. Rizal Commercial Banking Corp.

15. Security Bank Corp.

16. Union Bank of the Philippines



As well, the BTr announced that it would be holding several roadshows on the RTBs around the country to give investors in those places a chance to know more about the bond.  Here’s a list of the cities that the BTr will visit in the next two weeks:


May 30 (Wednesday)

- DBP Building, Makati City – 4:00 p.m.



May 31 (Thursday)

- Seda Abreeza, Davao City – 4:30 p.m.

- Quest Hotel, Clark Freeport Zone – 4:30 p.m.


- Le Monet Hotel, Baguio City – 5:00 p.m.



June 1 (Friday)

- Seda Atria, Iloilo City – 4:30 p.m.

- Pontefino Hotel, Batangas City – 4:30 p.m.

- Marco Polo Plaza Hotel, Cebu City – 5:30 p.m.



June 4 (Monday)

- Oriental Hotel, Legazpi City – 4:00 p.m.

- Limketkai Luxe Hotel, Cagayan de Oro City – 4:30 p.m.



June 5 (Tuesday)

- L’Fisher Hotel, Bacolod City – 5:00 p.m.



June 6 (Wednesday)

- East Asia Royale Hotel, General Santos City – 4:00 p.m.






Lorenzo Kyle Subido is a staff writer of Entrepreneur PH

Latest Articles